My Dunedin Itinerary

Dunedin City Council

The Dunedin City Council is comprised of the Mayor and fourteen Councillors who represent the following wards: Central, Mosgiel-Taieri and Waikouaiti Coast-Chalmers.

The Dunedin City Council is responsible for the governance of, and setting the strategic direction for the city, and ensuring that the Council works towards meeting the community outcomes that it has set for itself through the Long Term Council Community Plan (LTCCP).

Dunedin City currently has 6 community boards. Each board is comprised of 6 members elected every 3 years, plus 1 Councillor that is appointed by the City Council.

The role of the boards is to provide advice to the Council on matters affecting their communities and to advocate for the interests of their communities. Community Boards may make submissions to the Council and other organisations on matters affecting the Community Board.

The Dunedin City Council is required under local government legislation to provide essential services and facilities to the city of Dunedin. The Resource Management Act requires us to manage the city's natural environment, including the land, water, resources and coast, in a sustainable manner.

We seek to promote the well being and improve quality of life of our residents and visitors through delivery of these obligations.

To carry out these functions successfully, Dunedin City employs about 680 full time equivalent staff, headed by the Chief Executive. The staff has a complete spectrum of professional and occupational skills.

The Chief Executive is the only employee of the Dunedin City Council, comprised of the Mayor and councillors.